A galaxy of stars will descend on Khalifa International Stadium on Saturday 27 September for 10 days of scintillating action at the IAAF World Athletics Championships Doha 2019, where the IAAF will once again run its world record programme.

Athletes who set a world record will be eligible* for a special award of US$100,000 offered by TDK and Qatar National Bank (QNB). The performance must be an improvement on the existing IAAF world record. Performances which equal the existing IAAF world record will not be eligible for a world record award.

Portugal’s Ines Henriques, who set a world record of 4:05:56 in the women’s 50km race walk at the World Championships in London two years ago, and USA’s Ashton Eaton, who broke the decathlon world record in Beijing in 2015 and will be one of the IAAF’s Ambassadors in Doha, are two of the most recent recipients of a world record award.

TDK’s involvement with the IAAF World Championships goes far beyond the world record programme as the Japanese electronics company has been the main bib sponsor for men’s events for all 16 previous editions and will maintain that involvement in Doha.

QNB, which joined the IAAF as a partner last year, will offer the same generous sponsorship package for women’s events at the IAAF World Championships.

Prize money
Aside from the world record programme, a total of US$ 7,530,000 in prize money will be paid* by the IAAF in Doha as follows:

Individual events
Gold: US$ 60,000
Silver: US$ 30,000
Bronze: US$ 20,000
fourth place: US$ 15,000
fifth place: US$ 10,000
sixth place: US$ 6000
seventh place: US$ 5000
eighth place: US$ 4000

Relays (per team)
Gold: US$ 80,000
Silver: US$ 40,000
Bronze: US$ 20,000
fourth place: US$ 16,000
fifth place: US$ 12,000
sixth place: US$ 8000
seventh place: US$ 6000
eighth place: US$ 4000

* The payment of prize money and bonuses is dependent upon the usual ratification process.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here